Learning Reflections

 

-Now that you have a deeper understanding of the different learning theories of learning styles, how has your view on how you learn changed?

The way I view my learning now is more technical in nature. I’ve always had a general understanding of the way that I learned. Now that I have explored and discovered the different learning theories in this course,  I have acquired the scientific foundation behind elements of learning by expert practitioners.

My week one discussion post I mentioned that my learning best aligns with Bandura’s social cognitive theory and Bruner’s constructivist theory.  Connectivism also explains one of the best ways that I learn. According to George Siemens, “learning and now is rest and diversity of opinions friend is a process of connecting specialize know Jennifer Mason and source. Learning how to increase the capacity to know more is critical, even more so than that which is currently known. Nurturing and maintaining connections is needed to facilitate continual learning so that there is an increased ability to see connections between fields, ideas, and concepts as a core skill.” (Siemens 2005)

In my first post I also mentioned that I learn best by setting attainable goal that lead to bigger and better goals.  I think this directly relates to the connector this theory in that my capacity to know more is greater than what I currently know. This desire underlies my self-regulation and effort to respond to socio-cultural influences in a way that will allow me to become empowered and motivated. It is empowering to know that there is no limit to the abundance of information that will benefit my personal growth and interests.

Image result for learning reflections

Vygotsky believed that people came to control their own deliberate actions you learn to self regulate the primary mechanism is affecting self-regulation are language and the zone of proximal development (Ormrod 206,207,208). My views on how I learned have changed because now I see the way social cognitive theory and constructivism had been the way I’ve learned for most of my youth. As an adult learner my learning is best represented by Connectivism.

-What have you learned about the various learning theories and learning styles over the past weeks that can further explain your own personal learning preferences?

I  Learned that decision-making itself is a learning process. Choosing what to learn and the meaning of incoming information is seen through the lens of shift in reality while there’s a right answer now, it may be wrong tomorrow due to alterations in the information climate affecting the decision (Siemens, 2005). This means that it is important for me to continue to explore and discover new knowledge that extends my current strengths abilities and interests. I have always felt as an educator that the K-12 industry focuses too much on the teaching process from an instructor’s point of view without considering the complexities of learning and how it occurs.

Additionally, I have always felt that learning was the best way to educate and protect myself. I understand that learning is a continual process that last an entire lifetime,hence, finding function and purpose as a part of the process of my decision-making allows me to learn how to make connections that lead to greater understanding and capability. It is my hope that with increasing understanding and capabilities that I am able to maximize my potential as a professional and family person.

 Image result for learning reflections

-What role doesplay in your learning (i.e.  As a way to search for information, to record information, to create, etc.)?

Technology plays a huge part in the way that I learn. I rely more on technology each day. Technology frees up memory space in my brain so that I do not have to readily recall every nuance of knowledge that I acquire. Technology via the Internet also gives me an abundance of information at the click of a button. The devices that I use make it so that I am dependent on technology for simple things like my alarm clock, calender, weather and time to more complex information like world news, entertainment, education and travel.

Finally, technology allows me to stay connected with more individuals so that the information that is not able to be stored to technological devices can be stored with the people that I know. Technology allows me to keep in closer contact with the people that share information with me. Because of technology I have been able to teach myself new things. Through the use of instructional videos that are online, free online courses, webinars, vlogs, blogs, etc. The potential for my learning is limitless.

 

References:

Ormrod, J., Schunk, D., & Gredler, M. (2009). Learning Theories and Instruction. Pearson Custom Publishing.

Siemens, G. (2005, January). Connectivism:A Learning Theory for the Digital Age. Retrieved February 20, 2016, from http://www.itdl.org/journal/jan_05/article01.htm

 

Leave a Reply

